[gtranslate] CAN announces four Nepal T20 League teams - theoceannews.com

CAN announces four Nepal T20 League teams

The Nepal Cricket Association has released the names of four of the six teams that will compete in the first Nepal T20 League.

Kantipur Capitals, Biratnagar Super Kings, Janakpur Royals, and Lumbini All Stars are the four teams. Two more teams will be announced shortly, according to CAN General Manager Prashant Malla.

CAN stated in May that six clubs will compete in the T20 league and released a request for proposals to own teams in Biratnagar, Janakpur, Kathmandu, Pokhara, Bhairahawa, and Sudurpaschim.

Nepal T20 League will be CAN’s first official T20 tournament in Nepal. The International Cricket Council has already granted permission for the event to go place.

CAN expects that the Nepal T20 League would assist to transform the face of cricket in Nepal. The event is scheduled to begin on September 24.

However, Everest Premier Tournament operators have filed a writ suit against CAN in the Supreme Court, requesting an interim stay order to prevent CAN from launching its own T20 league.

The majority of the teams are owned by Nepalis, however the Lumbini All Stars and Janakpur Royals are owned by foreigners from the United States and India, respectively.

“Foreigners investing in leagues is common.” That has occurred in both football and the Indian Premier League. “The ICC also does not prevent us from doing so,” Malla said. “We want to include those who wish to see Nepali cricket grow.”

Also Read: Amazon to create more than 4,000 new permanent jobs in the UK this year